10 Marketing Terms You Need To Know: A Glossary for Beginners

10 Marketing Terms You Need To Know: A Glossary for Beginners

As a business owner, it’s important that you understand the basics of marketing. Even if you’re outsourcing your marketing efforts to a professional, it’s helpful to have a general understanding of the terminology. This glossary provides definitions for 10 common marketing terms that every beginner should know. Let’s get started!

1. Landing Page

A landing page is a single web page on a website that displays when you get referred to it from an online advertisement, email marketing campaign, social media post, and so forth. The goal of this particular web page is to direct visitors toward the desired outcome. If your company just ran a Facebook ad for your latest product, then the landing page would be the webpage that people land on when they click on your advertisement.

2. Hashtags (#)

Hashtags are used across social media platforms to identify keywords or topics in a tweet or post so other users can easily find it. The “#” symbol is also known as the number sign, hash, and pound sign depending on what type of device you’re using. On a PC, it’s also known as the octothorpe.

3. Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Search engine optimization involves improving your website so it has higher visibility in search engines for keywords related to your business, products, and services. When people are searching for what you offer, your website appears higher in search results. This process includes editing site content, optimizing the HTML code on the page, and adding relevant keywords to help you rank higher in search results.

4. Pay-Per-Click (PPC)

A pay-per-click is an online advertising model where advertisers are charged only when their advertisements are clicked. For example, you could make a website advertisement for your business appear when certain keyword phrases are searched online. If someone clicks on the advertisement, then you would have to pay for that click just as you would have to pay if that person called your company directly from an ad in the phone book.

5. Conversion Rate

Your conversion rate is the number of visitors to your website who actually take a desired action. For example, if you have a conversion rate of 5%, it means that 5% of the people who came to your landing page ended up purchasing a product or signing up for a newsletter.

6. Search Engine Marketing (SEM)

Search engine marketing is similar to SEO, except it focuses on paid advertisements. This process allows your business to rank higher in search engines by paying to have your website appear higher when certain keywords are searched online. You can use SEM through Google AdWords or other similar advertising platforms where you bid for ad space and pay only when someone clicks on an ad leading toward your site.

7. Pay-Per-Lead

The pay-per-lead business model is similar to a pay-per-click since you only have to pay when someone takes a desired action. But instead of paying per click, you’re paying per lead. A lead could be a sign up for your email list or requesting more information about your product or service.

8. Google Analytics

Google analytics is an online tool provided by Google that allows websites to track how many visitors they receive, where the visitors are coming from (i.e. which website referred them), and what events occurred once they entered the site (i.e., did they purchase something or sign up for a newsletter). This information helps marketers understand which keywords, ads, and sources are working best.

9. Email Marketing

Email marketing is a direct marketing technique of creating and distributing electronic newsletters through the use of email (eMail). Businesses use this strategy to promote their products or services directly to potential customers. You can do it by purchasing lists of email addresses from third-party providers or creating your own email lists by asking customers to sign-up for your newsletters.

10. SMO

Social media optimization is the use of organic posts on social networks (i.e., Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn) to gain more awareness and visibility for your brand, business, product, or service. This marketing strategy involves creating a business page on a social networking site and posting updates related to your business. Your goal is to gain more likes, followers, and traffic from the social network.

What is SEO?

Search engine optimization (SEO) is the process of making changes to a website or social media profile so it has higher visibility in search engines for keywords related to your business, products, and services. When people are searching for what you offer, your website appears higher in search results. This process includes editing site content so it has the most relevant keywords and using appropriate keywords in social media profiles.

What is CTR?

CTR stands for “click-through rate.” It shows how many visitors click on a link to a website. For example, if you had 100 Facebook friends and 10 of them clicked on your advertisement for a new running shoe store, the CTR would be 10%.

What is CPM?

CPM stands for “cost per mile.” It’s used to measure the cost of advertising against the number of visitors who view that advertisement. For example, if your ad costs $1 and 100 people viewed it, your CPM would be $1. When online advertisers purchase ad space, the cost per view is sometimes set by the site. Other times, it’s up to the advertiser.

What is PPD?

Pay-per-day (PPD) online advertising allows an advertiser to pay for ads only when website visitors click on them. It’s used by advertisers who want to gain website traffic without spending money on ad space if visitors do not click their links. For example, if your average CPM is $5 and you sell 100 clicks per day, you would pay $500 for 1,000 views per day ($0.50 x 100). If you make $5 per ad click, you would pay $50 for 1,000 clicks ($5 x 100).

What is ROI?

ROI stands for “return on investment.” It’s used to measure the cost of marketing investments against the revenue received from customers. For example, you might invest $100 in a direct mail marketing campaign and receive $500 in orders. Therefore, your return on investment would be 500%.

What is eCommerce?

eCommerce is the process of selling products or services online. Businesses use this marketing strategy to connect with customers who are shopping on their desktop computers or using mobile devices. For example, instead of going to a store, you can purchase running shoes from an eCommerce site by clicking on the link or advertisement for that site. The product is then delivered to your home or office.

What is conversion rate?

A website’s conversion rate is the percentage of visitors who take a desired action (i.e., purchase a product, download an eBook, sign up for your newsletter, etc.) once they reach your website. Some strategies that can increase website conversions include offering free content or samples that give consumers incentive to provide their name and email address, using pop-up windows to capture more contact information, improving page design to be user-friendly, and offering discounts or incentives.

What is PPC?

Pay-per-click (PPC) is an online advertising model where advertisers are charged only when their advertisements are clicked. You can create website advertisements for your business to appear when certain keyword phrases are searched online. For example, if someone types in a phrase similar to “running shoes,” your ad for a running shoe store would appear. PPC is one of the most popular forms of SEM because it can be used as a stand-alone marketing strategy or combined with SEO and social media marketing.

So It Seems

So there you have it, 10 marketing terms to get you started on your journey to becoming an expert. Do you have any other words or phrases that you’d like us to define for future blog posts? Comment below and let us know – we love hearing from our readers! And don’t forget to share this post with your friends and followers – the more people who understand digital marketing, the better.

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